<u>Terms and Conditions of Open</u> Burning

• Maine Law now **PROHIBITS ALL OUTDOOR BURNING on RED FLAG WARNING DAYS.**

• It is illegal to burn without an open burning permit in the State of Maine.

• You must be at least 18 years of age to obtain an Open Burning Permit.

• You can only burn upon property you own or you must be in possession of written property owner permission.

• You must print your permit or have it available electronically. A hard or electronic copy of the permit must be in hand during times of open burning.

• If the fire department receives any type of complaint about the burning, we are obligated to investigate and may potentially require the fire be extinguished.

• All fires must be extinguished on the permitted date and by the end time listed on the permit.

• You may not start a fire with any type of accelerant.

• Common materials that you cannot burn may include but are not limited to: paper, cardboard, furniture, mattresses, plastics, chemicals, motor fuels/oils, rubber, tires, pressure treated lumber, plywood, OSB and other sheet goods, finished wood, painted wood, rubbish or garbage, insulation, Styrofoam, expanded polystyrene foam, metal, sheetrock, asphalt shingles, house wrap and tar paper or wire insulation. You may use a small amount of paper or cardboard to start the fire.

• Burning prohibited materials or violating other permit restrictions may result in extinguishment of your fire, ineligibility for future permits and/or a summons to appear in court.

• The fire must be carefully watched and controlled by a sufficient force of capable adults; the permit holder shall be responsible for suppression costs should the fire escape due to negligence.

• Piles larger than an average SUV shall be broken down into smaller piles.

• Wind speed cannot be calculated when this system issues a permit. Permit holder is responsible for not burning or extinguishing the fire should the wind speed be sustained at 10mph or higher.

<u>To obtain a FREE online Open</u> <u>Burning Permit please visit:</u> <u>www.wardensreport.com</u>

- 1. Click <u>Knox County</u> on the map.
- 2. Type **<u>Rockland</u>** in the box.

Note: If the system does not go to the <u>Terms and</u> <u>Conditions</u> screen you are attempting to obtain a permit outside of allowable burn times or the current fire danger (HIGH, VERY HIGH or EXTREME) prohibits the issuance of an online permit. At the discretion of the fire officer in charge at the fire station a hand written permit may be issued on days classified as HIGH. If you have difficulty please contact the fire station 207-594-0318.

- 3. Read and Agree to the <u>Terms and</u> <u>Conditions</u>
- 4. Fill out the permit. Note: when entering your phone number you must use dashes
- 5. Click Submit.

Print and Sign your permit **OR** have the permit available electronically. You must have access to the permit by one of these methods at the burn location. If you don't have a printer or electronic device please visit the fire station at 118 Park St. in Rockland for assistance with printing or obtaining an open burning permit.

Campfires

Recreational campfires do not require an open burning permit; however the following additional requirements apply to meet the definition of a campfire. Maine defines a Recreational Campfire as: "An outdoor fire that is used for cooking, personal warmth, light or ceremonial or aesthetic purposes that is not part of debris disposal (AKA burning brush). A residential fire contained within an outdoor fireplace also falls into this category."

Campfires:

• Shall be kindled upon property you own or you must be in possession of written property owner permission.

- Shall have a responsible adult present.
- Shall be kindled upon bare soil or other noncombustible base.
- Shall be located at least 10' from combustibles in all directions including above unless the fireplace is designed for reduced clearance.
- The fire shall not be more than 36" diameter at the base or have a flame height exceeding 36".
- Shall be kindled using common stove length firewood, commercially available logs and/or untreated dimensional lumber scraps.
- Shall NOT be used for disposal of materials to avoid getting a permit.
- Shall have the same restrictions on prohibited materials listed earlier in this document.

• Are strongly discouraged on days with Very High or Extreme Fire Danger conditions and are now prohibited by law during Red Flag Warnings as reported for Zone 11 at: www.mainefireweather.org

SAFETY EQUIPMENT

Garden Hose: The most effective tool to prevent fire spread is water. A garden hose with nozzle attached to an unlimited, pressurized water source is preferred to protect against fire spread. The hose should be able to cover all the area around the burn site.

Water Buckets: 5 gallon pales filled with water are an alternative if a garden hose is not available.

Hand Tools: Metal hand tools such as shovels rakes, pick axe and corn brooms soaked in water are the most effective tools for open burning.

SAFETY GUIDELINES

- Have water on site.
- Wet down areas where fire could spread before you burn especially when burning grass.
- Keep combustibles away from burn areas.
- Have enough capable adults on hand based on the size of the fire.
- Do not leave the fire unattended even if it is only smoldering.
- Do not use alcohol or drugs while burning.
- Do not use flammable/combustible liquids to start the fire.
- If you think the fire is growing out of your control call 9-1-1 immediately.
- Wear safety glasses, work gloves, long sleeve shirts, long pants and sturdy closed toe shoes.
- Avoid inhaling smoke.
- Pay attention to changing wind conditions.

Town Forest Warden Contact Information:

Town Warden: Fire Chief Chris Whytock

Rockland Fire & EMS

118 Park St.

Rockland, ME 04841

Tele: (207)594-0318 FAX(207) 594-0344

Email: cwhytock@rocklandmaine.gov

ROCKLAND FIRE & EMS



OPEN BURNING

RULES & REGULATIONS